TripAdvisor traveler rating

tripadvisor rating 4.0 312 reviews
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Port Moresby

Traveler rating

Excellent
109
Very Good
115
Average
71
Poor
11
Terrible
6

Type of traveler

Business
212
Couples
25
Solo travel
17
Family
14
Friends getaway
22

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • One side offers views across Ela beach and Coral Sea, whilst the other side has views across the harbour and Bay (Scotsdoc)
    5.0
    2022-10-30
  • Sea views are recommended. (jelenap102)
    5.0
    2021-09-07
  • Try the Presidential Suites, you will love it (Ghea78)
    5.0
    2021-08-31
  • Worth the effort (jrmcairns)
    5.0
    2020-05-19
  • Ask for a room with a water view. (Brian W)
    4.0
    2019-12-12

Traveler reviews

  • "Great cutomer focused hotel"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-10-30
    • Trip type: Business
  • Traveling for business cna leave you with a sense of isolation especially if it's international and over several weeks. First the room, The suite has a functional kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, micrawave and fridge freeze, Island bench for eating with ample space to store your shopping. Open plan lounge connected to the kitchen with sliding double doors leading to the balcony and view across down town Port Moresby and the harbour / Bay, very comfortable with modern TV and multiple channels. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and I've enjoyed quality sleep. TV in the bedroom with the same selction of channels as in the lounge. Double door again leading out to the balcony with the same view across the harbour and Bay. So why the title? Over the weekend I wanted to visit the National Nature park and also the Commonwealth War Cemetery at Bomana for those fallen during the 1940 - 1945 WW2. I enquired at reception on the average cost of a taxi to the park and cemetery (circa 80 Kina just to the park). What the arranged was one of the hotel staff (Koni) to accompany me and a reliable, secure driver (Colin) for a reasonable price. The hotel staff went above and beyond to ensure my personal security and subsequently I had a enjoyable time viewing some spectacular countryside and paying respect to those that have given the ultimate sacrifice.

    • 5.0
      Service
    • Olive Kupp, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review 2022-11-16
    • Dear Scotsdoc, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the team's attitude and service standards at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay. Kind regards,

  • "Family Outing"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-07-31
    • Trip type: Family
  • Thanks for the friendly service and I'd say it's the best time spent there we enjoyed every bit of it.... especially the kids they loved the pool so much and couldn't get tired of washing.... Everything was perfect...

    • 5.0
      Rooms
    • 5.0
      Value
    • 4.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Location
    • 4.0
      Cleanliness
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Olive Kupp, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review 2022-08-05
    • Dear tuiniovia, It is such a treat to hear that your family outing was a success, and I am happy that we provided the venue for that occasion. We most certainly will keep an eye out for your booking and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Grand Papua Hotel. Best regards,

  • "Strongly recommend!"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-07-28
    • Trip type: Business
  • Felt very safe staying here. All staff were very helpful and concerned with my safety. Bed was very comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower. Fast reliable wifi. Good views from balcony, even on lower floors. Good room service. Bar, restaurant and cafe all within the hotel building was great!

    • 4.0
      Rooms
    • 4.0
      Value
    • 5.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Location
    • 4.0
      Cleanliness
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Olive Kupp, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review 2022-08-05
    • Dear Enigma029, It is our aim to ensure that all our guests feel safe and secure in our hotel, and I am pleased to hear that you felt safe here with us. One of the highlights of our hotel are the views that we have and it's great to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel soon. Best regards,

  • "Grand Papua Experience"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-07-18
    • Trip type: Solo travel
  • A very comfortable environment for leisure and business. I was so stressed and under pressure from work and family. Had sleepless nights and had a lot to do. However, the calmness of the hotel environment made me sleep peaceful and woke up the next day with refreshed mind and at peace.

    • 5.0
      Rooms
    • 5.0
      Value
    • 5.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Location
    • 5.0
      Cleanliness
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Olive Kupp, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review 2022-08-05
    • Dear msembenombo, It is great to read that you had a great stay. I'm pleased to hear that the hotel provided the calmness that you needed for you to be relaxed and at peace. We look forward to welcoming you back to another pleasant stay with us. Best regards,

  • "Life after quarantine ..."

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-02-27
    • Trip type: Business
  • After months away because of the pandemic it was great to return to PNG and experience the warmth of welcome at the Grand Papua from the reservation, front desk and restaurant staff. Particular thanks to Koni, the Concierge, who cheerfully stepped in to get my lifeless vehicle back on the road. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff team.

    • Robert Cohen, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review 2022-03-01
    • Dear WillKundiawa Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Grand Papua Hotel. It is a great pleasure to start welcoming guests following the opening of the PNG borders and we are ready and waiting to provide all our guests with an amazing experience. I am glad our team took such great care of you and that Koni made such a great impression with the usual eagerness that he is very well known for. I have passed on the details of your review to our team and we all hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC