TripAdvisor traveler rating

1129 reviews
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in State College
"Certificate of Excellence 2019" Certificate of Excellence 2019

Type of traveler

Excellent
793
Very Good
262
Average
40
Poor
20
Terrible
14

Traveler rating

Business
214
Couples
137
Solo travel
53
Family
624
Friends getaway
72

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Cleanliness
5.0

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Whichever room you pick, make sure your bed has FOUR pillows! (mckzach)
    3.0
    2019-07-16
  • High floor, back side of building for stadium and nature views (ClearBlue85)
    5.0
    2019-05-06
  • Get a room facing the back of the hotel so you have a view of the nature sanctuary. (sunlightHK)
    4.0
    2019-04-28
  • We love the suite as it has a private bedroom and 2 tv’s. (Leslie L)
    5.0
    2018-09-03
  • 4th floor was quiet, even facing the road (rwgerber1)
    5.0
    2018-08-20

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Major cleaning needed"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-16
    • Trip type: Family
  • This hotel is a good location, staff is welcoming, beds and pillows were comfortable. But ... the room smelled like cigarette smoke, the carpets were disgustingly filthy, walls were very dirty. We asked for an extra sheet which we put on the sofa so we could sit on it. At breakfast, bananas were brought out to replenish the supply but they were overripe and squishy. Scrambled eggs were ok but could have been hotter. It’s unlikely we’ll stay here again but if they do a major cleaning, the hotel would be perfect.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Scott M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this review 2019-08-16
    • Thank you for you review. We apologize for the condition of your room during your stay. Cleanliness is a core part of excellent service and we take it very seriously. We are excited to have purchased a new carpet and upholstery machine. We're working hard to get into every room as soon as possible. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and wish you safe travels.

  • "Never let me down."

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-15
    • Trip type: Family
  • In the last three years, I’ve had many visits to this hotel due to my daughter attending Penn State. They are fantastic. It’s priced well, very nicely appointed, and the staff and just nice people who treat you like family.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Scott M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this review 2019-08-16
    • Thank you for your review and the nice words. We are very blessed to be surrounded by so many passionate people. It makes all the difference. We appreciate you being such a loyal customer and look forward to seeing you again.

  • "Girls trip summer '19"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-12
    • Trip type: Family
  • My daughter (21) and I take several 3-5 day long "girls'trips" throughout the year, most are during the summer as she is a college student and has the most free time then. This was a 4 day trip to PA, no plans, just a get there and decide what to do when we arrive and after taking to the locals. The hotel and its employees were a wonderful part of the first couple days and made everything very easy and stress free for us!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Scott M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this review 2019-08-15
    • Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. We're so glad our team was able to help you. Easy and stress free sounds like a perfect vacation. Thank you for choosing The Country Inn & Suites and we wish you safe travels.

  • "Rough weekend"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-11
    • Trip type: Couples
  • The location must have had a rough weekend as they were ill prepared for the amount of guests or the management doesn't really care anymore. The vending machines were out, the breakfast was lets say poor the rooms were not what their standards usually are and it just seemed that they were not ready for the weekend.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Scott M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this review 2019-08-12
    • Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry you were unable to enjoy your stay with us. We strive to serve our guests with excellence. Our vending machine situation has been a source of frustration for a while and we are changing company's on August 13th. We're looking forward to our new vendor relationship and know it will improve the guest experience. Our breakfast is a different scenario. In my career I have never been a part of a better breakfast. I am reminded on a daily basis that Edie, our Head of Hospitality, is a passionate leader of our hotel. Perhaps you caught us in a difficult moment, but we do our best as a team and we win or lose as a team. We will try to serve with excellence again. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe travels.

  • "Great price, excellent service, comfortable room!"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-10
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We were part of a group that reserved about 20 rooms at the Country Inn and Suites. The desk staff were very friendly and helped us check in multiple people for this reunion. The room was very comfortable. It was a wonderful stay!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Scott M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this review 2019-08-12
    • Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon.

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC