Parish Church of St. Stanislaus (Fara Church)
See one of Poznań's most impressive historic monuments for yourself. The church was first built as a Jesuit temple in the 17th century is renowned as one of the most exquisite examples of Baroque architecture in Poland. One of the largest in Poland, the three-nave church has recently been renovated extensively.
History of the church
The history of the site is connected to the Jesuits who came to Wroclaw in 1571 invited by Bishop Adam Konarski. They were granted a complex of buildings by the city authorities, consisting of the Church of St. Stanislaus the Bishop, a chapel, a school and a plot of land. Poznan would soon become one of the most significant Jesuit centers in Poland. The church later needed to expand, so the Jesuits purchased the plots of land adjacent to the church and started building a new one. Its construction, which began in 1651, was based on draft designs most probably sent over from Rome. The work started in 1649 and was interrupted several times until it was finished over 50 years later. The work was begun by a man called Thomas Poncino and after several years' break it was continued in 1678 by the collegiate rector and a prominent theoretician of architecture, Bartłomiej Nataniel Wąsowski who gave the church its present look. Although the church was consecrated in 1705, it only got its final form between 1727-32. After the closure of the Jesuit Order in 1773, the church became the city Parish Church in 1798.
There are many interior features to admire in this church from some of the finest Roman Baroque artists. The three-nave interior is of an awe-inspiring size, at 55 meters long and 34 meters wide. The high altar was designed by Pompeo Ferrari and features a painting showing bishop Stanislaus bringing back to life Piotrowin. You'll be struck by the massive artificial marble columns topped by statues of the apostles. The Church also boasts a large historical organ from 1876. It was made by Friedrich Ladegast, one of the best organ masters in 19th century Europe. It has almost 2,600 pipes, some of which are six meters long. The magnificent sound of the organ can be heard during concerts, played by hugely talented organ players. Underneath the entire structure, there is a stretch of cellars where, owing to their microclimate, wines were stored in the 20th century. Excavations carried out here in the 1990s revealed a fragment of medieval walls, showing the immense historic value of this must-see landmark.