Visit Cathédrale Notre-Dame to step back in time with spectacular architecture. Luxembourg's only cathedral has a mix of late Gothic architecture and Renaissance features. Built between 1613 and 1621 by Jesuits who needed a church for their college, which is now the National Library. The North Gate is in the semi-Renaissance, semi-Baroque style of this period.
The cathedral is home to the wonderful statue of Mary, the Consoler of the Afflicted, which has existed since 1794. Later, in 1870, the church became a cathedral and was enlarged into the structure you can see today in the 1930s. Awe-inspiring features that can be seen include the choir screen in richly sculpted alabaster, columns decorated with arabesques, stained glass from the 19th and 20th centuries, neo-Gothic confessionals, modern sculptures in bas relief and bronze gates by Luxembourger artist Auguste Trémont. However, the most beautiful element of this piece of ecclesiastical history is seen from the outside—its distinctively elongated black spires.
The crypt holds John the Blind, King of Bohemia and Count of Luxembourg (1310-1346), as well members of the Grand Ducal family and noted bishops; the two lions flanking the entrance are again the work of Auguste Trémont.
Local cat lover
After spending his childhood in Luxembourg, Auguste Trémont moved to Paris where he enrolled at the "École des Arts décoratifs" in 1909, and at the "École des Beaux-Arts" after the WWI. A visit to the Zoological gardens changed his focus from portraits and still life to animals. Attracted by the challenge of capturing their features, he specialized in sculptures of various species of animals, with a special fondness for big felines. The late 1920s to early 1930s were his most productive years. During this Parisian period, he sculpted two large lions that now keep the entrance of the Luxembourg City Hall. It refers to Luxembourg's coat of arms contains two crowned lions supporting a blue and white striped shield, of which depicts a third, red lion rampant.