TripAdvisor traveler rating

tripadvisor rating 4.5 2912 reviews
Ranked #10 of 75 hotels in Cardiff

Traveler rating

Excellent
1566
Very Good
910
Average
252
Poor
103
Terrible
81

Type of traveler

Business
640
Couples
1107
Solo travel
135
Family
426
Friends getaway
392

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Parking in NCP at discounted rate. Walking distance to Principality. (Hannah W)
    5.0
    2022-06-01
  • pay a little extra and get an executive suite (nicholas u)
    5.0
    2022-05-29
  • Avoid if you want to enjoy your visit to Cardiff! (joeswinbanks)
    1.0
    2022-05-24
  • Executive rooms at rear are quieter for a supplement (Gillian W)
    5.0
    2022-05-22
  • Avoid 1st or 2nd floor. Avoid using NCP, cheaper options nearby the Cardiff university block even though hotel gives discount. (AshoOne)
    3.0
    2022-05-21

Traveler reviews

  • "Fabulous short break"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-06-22
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • Stayed for 2 nights for a concert. The location is great, central to everything and when you walk into reception it smells amazing! I had room 433 which overlooks the front of the hotel and noise was not an issue. Air con worked well and the room was clean and well appointed. Bathroom was very dark so had to go make up in the mirror over the desk. Extra points for charging points being plentiful, especially by the bed. Breakfast was excellent and the staff members so helpful and friendly. Hello to the lovely lady in the kitchen that recommended The Knapp as somewhere nice to visit :o)

  • "Great visit"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-06-13
    • Trip type: Couples
  • 12th-13th of June It was a Lovely room, well kept facilities, the staff there were very friendly and helpful, especially I very lovely, welcoming and helpful young gentleman called Donovan. Will look forward to our next stay

  • "Fab hotel in a great location"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-06-01
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Lovely hotel in a great location. We visited Cardiff to see Ed Sheeran, so it was very busy everywhere. The hotel was within walking distance from the Principality Stadium & St David’s shopping centre. Can’t comment on restaurant as we are in town but the bar had a nice relaxed atmosphere and stayed open later to accommodate for people coming back from the concert. NCP carpark opposite is convenient but expensive, however, if you validate your parking at the hotel reception desk before leaving you do get a discount. Had the most amazing massage in the spa the following morning, we didn’t use the rest of the facilities as pool was quite cold and sauna was out of action when we were there but didn’t really bother us. Great buffet breakfast too!

  • "Nanny, Grandad& Lily-Louise"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-05-29
    • Trip type:
  • We had an executive suite for the 2 of us (Nanny and grandad) and my 5 year old grand-daughtet ,Lily-Louise. The stainless steel 20m pool is beautiful as is the whirlpool .nice changing rooms and showers with complimentary towels . We had room service ,every thing was spot on ,I even forgot Lily's chips-no problem ,waiter ran downstairs and chips arrived for a starving 5 year old on the 3rd. floor in LESS than 5 minutes, what fantastic service is that?! Put the child to bed and then I slipped down to the bar around 11.30 for a couple of beers. Superb atmosphere and great music till about 1am. Next day they went for their 2nd swim and then cooked breakfast for the 3 of us which was pretty good for the price lots of hot items wel cooked and lovely coffee. Fruit and yoghurt for the 5 yeat old, and then across the road to the carpark, but not before a THIRD swim in the pool!. Carpark fee was reduced by 25% if you ask ,and off we went down the M4 ,after a fabulously luxurious stay, a great night's sleep on the huge bed and a marathon swimming seesion and spa. ALL the staff were superbly polite and friendly ,even the breakfast staff whilst under extreme pressure at 10 am on Sunday. We will come again, Nanny,Grandad&Lily-Louise!

    • 5.0
      Rooms
    • 5.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2022-06-01
    • Dear Nanny, Grandad & Lily-Louise Dear Nanny, Grandad & Lily-Louise Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Park Plaza and thank you every so much for your glowing review and for awarding your experience 5 Bubbles. We were delighted to read that you all had such a fabulous time with especially in our Laguna Health & Spa in our Stainless steel 20m pool. We always like getting feedback and really appreciate you giving us so much praise. Our team are trained to deliver a top-class service and so pleasing to note that we satisfied all especially your grand-daughter. We hope that you will return for another great stay soon and we promise every more special service.

  • "Great"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-05-27
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Lovely hotel snd room. Blackout curtains and no road noise. Modern and staff lovely. Thank you. Right in center. 15 mins walk to train station. Lovely bar area. Clean and luxurious totally recommend.! Lifts, dint use spa area. Would definitely stay here again

    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2022-06-01
    • Dear Shelly Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff, we appreciate your lovely feedback and for awarding our facilities and service a splendid 5 Bubbles. As you mention, our hotel is very centrally located with every facility for our guests to have a great experience. I am so pleased that you can recommend us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for yet another great experience.

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC