TripAdvisor traveler rating

tripadvisor rating 4.5 2969 reviews
Ranked #12 of 75 hotels in Cardiff

Traveler rating

Excellent
1597
Very Good
920
Average
255
Poor
107
Terrible
90

Type of traveler

Business
645
Couples
1125
Solo travel
139
Family
436
Friends getaway
403

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Check parking facilities prior to travelling (Tidziwe M)
    5.0
    2023-01-27
  • Don't stay here when the Beaujolais Day is being held. (welshhappytraveller)
    1.0
    2023-01-24
  • Book a room on the first floor to be near the spa entrance if you like a swim (HLWalks)
    5.0
    2023-01-20
  • Don’t bother with paying extra for a quiet room waste of money choose another hotel. (Yvonne L)
    1.0
    2022-11-27
  • Wouldn't advise going in the car park after 10pm due to homeless and groups hanging around in there. (danzy100)
    4.0
    2022-11-25

Traveler reviews

  • "Wonderful Stay"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-29
    • Trip type: Family
  • My first time visiting here . There were areas of the hotel closed when I arrived for a special birthday but Harris made everything so much better upon checking in .We was upgraded to a junior suite and that was exceptionally clean , my one thing I had requested on the booking form. Wonderful large bed and housekeeping ...well done . Even though there was work being done on the terrace a small area of the terrace was open to sit out on which I was so pleased the bar staff had decided to open the door as outside space is what I look for when I stay anywhere . Reception staff were very efficient, friendly and ordered me cabs when needed . The bar ...I absolutely loved the low lighting here . The cocktails I didn't enjoy but the wine was lovely and late access. Lifts wonderfully clean and no issues. All areas very clean . The restaurant looked beautiful .We didn't use this on this particular trip as we had already made resovations elsewhere but the restaurant looks so inviting I definitely will be trying the food next time . As this was a shopping birthday trip I didn't use the spa but I most definitely will be staying again if there is access to the terrace Would I stay again ...most definitely .

    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2023-01-30
    • Dear Guest We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Park Plaza Cardiff and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your special birthday. We truly appreciate you rating your experience a splendid 5 Bubbles. I can assure you that our terrace is open for business, and we are looking forward to the long summer evenings on the terrace. On you next visit be sure to visit our Laguna Kitchen & Bar, it is a firm favourite with our residence as well as our locals. I have passed your thanks to Harris for the upgrade to our Junior Suite and all your feedback has been shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another great stay.

  • "Cardiff city centre stay"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-29
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We stayed one night here as part of our Britain and Ireland tour. Very central location. Short walk to Cardiff Castle and right next to a big shopping centre with great restaurants. The lobby is massive with big lounge chairs. Breakfast was great and staff very helpful. I also ran to Cardiff Bay and back easily. I would definitely stay here again next time I’m in Cardiff.

    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2023-01-30
    • Dear Guest We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Park Plaza Cardiff and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your special birthday. We truly appreciate you rating your experience a splendid 5 Bubbles. I can assure you that our terrace is open for business, and we are looking forward to the long summer evenings on the terrace. On you next visit be sure to visit our Laguna Kitchen & Bar, it is a firm favourite with our residence as well as our locals. I have passed your thanks to Harris for the upgrade to our Junior Suite and all your feedback has been shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another great stay.

  • "50th birthday celebrations "

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-27
    • Trip type:
  • Had my 50th birthday party at Kuku club and stayed overnight at Park Plaza Hotel as a special treat by my friends and family. I had a very pleasant experience from start to end. I will definitely come again! The reception was amazing...staff were so friendly, welcoming and professional. They went out of their way to help and nothing was a bother. My superior room exceeded my expectation. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I had all that I needed to make my stay pleasant. Breakfast was fantastic- a variety of delicious food on the menu. Comfortable seating and lovely decor in the restaurant. I was able to use the gym during my stay and enjoyed my session. My spa treatment was arranged after check out. The reception staff were helpful in keeping my luggage and a million presents. I waited for my spa session in the lobby sat on comfortable chairs in front of a lovely log fire. I was offered a cup of tea which was fab! I really felt like a princess! My spa treatment was amazing. The staff were similarly lovely. Beautiful and relaxing environment. The reception staff were kind enough to help me getting my luggage in the car when I was leaving- how lovely! I have listed this hotel as one of my favourite places and I will definitely come again in future. Highly recommended.

    • 5.0
      Value
    • 5.0
      Location
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2023-01-30
    • Dear Tidziwe, Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Cardiff hotel and specially our own Kuku Bar for such a special occasion as your 50th Birthday! We are thrilled that you had such an amazing time. We are delighted with your kind words toward all our lovely staff, they truly go extra miles to deliver the quality service we are known for, it is a joy to read your appreciation. Laguna Kitchen & Bar is our amazing asset to the hotel, and we are very proud of it, Chefs team sends their regards, recently, they have created a new Menu that you enjoyed. Your great experience in Laguna Health & Spa have been shared with the staff who are very happy that they left a positive mark on you as well as made you feel relaxed after your treatment. Thank you for listing us as one of your favourite hotels, please come back very soon, we surely cannot wait to have you back. Best regards

  • "OUTSTANDING *****!!!"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-22
    • Trip type: Family
  • We went for a family meal, absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Starters and mains where just out of this world. The chef even came to our table to check our order was what we wanted, Staff very attentive and lovely atmosphere. Big shout out to Jacob who was our host for the evening and couldn't do enough for us. Fantastic food, excellent service one of the best places to eat in Cardiff.

    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2023-01-30
    • Dear Guest Thank you for choosing the Laguna Kitchen & Bar at Park Plaza to enjoy a family meal, we are thrilled that you found it to be fantastic from start to finish. We love getting feedback from our guests especially when we receive 5 Bubbles for our endeavours. We are very proud of our food and service offering at the Laguna Kitchen & Bar and always thrilled when we are highlighted as ‘the best place to eat in Cardiff’. Be assured I have shared all your feedback with the whole team. We hope to welcome you back again very soon, thank you.

  • "Class act"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-20
    • Trip type: Solo travel
  • Over the years I’ve stayed here for work, we’ve had events here and the events management is excellent. I see the same staff, so hats off to the management for staff retention during challenging times. The menu is good value, changes regularly and sources locally. The rooms are always spotless, as is the spa and pool. Special thanks to Kelly at breakfast who remembers that I like poached eggs, and Dafydd and Aya on reception for being so welcoming, and checking my parking app is set up right. Thank you for making work trips easier with a home away from home

    • Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review 2023-01-30
    • Dear HLWalks We are thrilled that you refer to our hotel ‘as home away from home’, this is the biggest compliment you can pay us, thank you. As a team we work very hard to ensure all our guests have a great experience. We are very thankful that you have taken the time out from your busy schedule and have awarded us a splendid 5 Bubbles. Our team are always happy to get a mention especially some team members who are not necessarily customer facing. We look forward to your future visits and are always up for getting constructive feedback in order to ensure we continue to deliver a top-class service.

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC