TripAdvisor traveler rating

3255 reviews
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Durham

Type of traveler

Excellent
1339
Very Good
1218
Average
454
Poor
155
Terrible
89

Traveler rating

Business
585
Couples
1566
Solo travel
108
Family
465
Friends getaway
325

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Choose carefully, you may decide to widen your choice. (peterlathbury)
    3.0
    2019-08-14
  • Knowing what I know now a room overlooking the river. (Hameldaeme)
    4.0
    2019-08-11
  • Find another hotel. (MickM679)
    2.0
    2019-07-14
  • room overlooking river wear (willored)
    3.0
    2019-07-01
  • Pay for parking at Reception (Colin G)
    4.0
    2019-06-26

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Disappointed "

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-06
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We have stayed probably a dozen times over the last 4 years that our daughter was at Durham university. I have always given the hotel 5 * s . This time I was disappointed. It is the small things that made the hotel stand out . We were always greeted with a warm welcome back and acknowledged that I am a gold member . This time time nothing . The breakfast was the biggest disappointment . We built up a lovely rapport with the amazing staff , they remembered our names and our children’s names and went out of their way to be accommodating. This time the coffee was out of sachets or lukewarm out of an urn . Not what you expect from a 4 star hotel . We also had to go up and ask to be served , it has lost the personal touch .

    • JamesCYNWAUSTIN, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2019-07-11
    • Thank you for your feedback! Since you visited we have since upgraded our coffee facilities to a new coffee machine which provides an automated coffee selection. Either way thank you for your feedback!

  • "Disappointed for the first time"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-06
    • Trip type: Family
  • Another nice visit but if you are a coffee lover this is not the hotel for you. On some days we were offered coffee in sachets for breakfast and then on other days very average coffee out of an urn normally used for hot water. A hotel of this quality has to do much better. It ruined otherwise a superb breakfast

    • JamesCYNWAUSTIN, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2019-07-11
    • Thank you for your feedback! Since you visited we have since upgraded our coffee machine and overall experience regarding the coffee set up which our current and future guests can now enjoy. Look forward to you giving us another chance! Regards James

  • "Overpriced and average."

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-26
    • Trip type: Couples
  • The price I paid for one night came to be a ridiculous amount for the experience. First issue was the hair dryer that didn’t work which isn’t much of an issue but when my partner went down to request another one, he was told that it would be half an hour (seems a bit long to find a hair dryer) he then explained I was sitting with wet hair and they said they’d get it in 5 minutes. Next was the staff who were there to help seemed as if it was a hassle to help which is bizarre to me. We then were woken up multiple occasions from drilling sounds seems a bit inconsiderate to do on a morning in a hotel. Staff on the front desk on welcome and departure were lovely.

    • JamesCYNWAUSTIN, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2019-06-27
    • Thank you so much for your feedback! If possible could you contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager Mon-Fri? I'd like to look into your comments a little closer. Regards

  • "Mothers Day Visit"

    • Reviewed: 2019-04-02
    • Trip type: Family
  • I was absolutely appalled at the level of customer service I received yesterday (01/04/19) at Radisson blu, a mean do u seriously need to have an attitude problem to be employed here? I visited last year with a friend for her birthday using a Groupon voucher we had a great day using the spa facilities & enjoying afternoon tea, I thought it would be a great idea to book again for mothers day, on arrival (approximately 1pm) we were told by reception to head to the pace health facility (spa area), I explained I had booked through Groupon for use of the spa & afternoon tea, the 2 ladies on reception had awful attitudes & we were made to feel so unwelcome, they explained the hotel no longer owned the spa facilities & it was run privately & we were not entitled to use them unless we bought a day pass costing £15 considering the amount I had purchased the Groupon voucher for the extra would not be worth while for 2 hours usage, I explained my afternoon tea was not booked until 4pm so we would be waiting around for hours, I was then told to head to the collage restaurant & explain the situation to the ladies, they basically told me there was nothing that could be done & I would have to speak to Groupon, I explained I would like to cancel my booking as it was not what I expected, not 1 member of staff was willing to help in any way, we had drove the 16mile from gateshead to enjoy a special mothers day to be very disappointed, I also paid the £5 parking charge that turned out to be an absolute waste of time, this whole experience was a total nightmare, only to be made worse by the attitude of the staff at this hotel, which should of been a nice relaxing mothers day was awful, the 32 mile round trip was a complete waste of our time & we decided for the best to cancel the booking.....

    • RadissonHotelGroup, Customer care at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2019-04-05
    • Dear Ashley E, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We regret to hear that the staff service you received was not to your standards. We are always working to improve our guests experience and look forward to another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

  • "Overnight stay!"

    • Reviewed: 2019-02-03
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Perfect central location for bars and restaurants! Clean and tidy room and very friendly and assertive staff! Will definitely return! Leisure club facilities also looked good but we didn’t get a chance to go!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC