TripAdvisor traveler rating

tripadvisor rating 4.0 4196 reviews
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Durham

Traveler rating

Excellent
1769
Very Good
1460
Average
603
Poor
231
Terrible
134

Type of traveler

Business
683
Couples
1819
Solo travel
120
Family
549
Friends getaway
384

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • If like me, you are somewhat claustrophobic & a woman of certain age, it may be helpful to contact the hotel prior to arrival, to request a room with opening windows. (Elainenan)
    5.0
    2023-01-19
  • Parking available at back of hotel - £14 for 24hours if you register and pay at reception when you check in. (CHAMPERS365)
    5.0
    2023-01-15
  • Make sure it’s clear what you get a discount on. Hopefully when you go the pool is sorted (claire d)
    2.0
    2023-01-14
  • Take your own pillow (Sharon H)
    4.0
    2023-01-03
  • 262 overlooks the back of the hotel (Nan2272252117)
    4.0
    2022-12-16

Traveler reviews

  • "Would stay again but a few areas for improvement."

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-24
    • Trip type: Couples
  • All the staff were great! Breakfast was v good. Room nice and modern. Overall vibe was v nice. Loved the 'signature smell' too - like vegas hotels have! Great vibe overall and will come back probably BUT 1. The walls are v thin we could hear neighours from all around - talking just at normal volumes and phones beeping as texts came in. Thank God they weren't rowdy and went to bed at a normal time - would have been v disturbing otherwise. I overheard someone complaining at the front desk who were less lucky than us. 2. Not enough electrical plugs - only 3 in the room I saw, with only 1 by the bed, really should be one plug on either side these days. Just used my power-bank instead. 3. Aircon/heating - room was kinda too hot and the system doesn't allow much variation in the temp range. Windows can't be opened.

    • 3.0
      Rooms
    • 4.0
      Value
    • 4.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 4.0
      Location
    • 4.0
      Cleanliness
    • 5.0
      Service
  • "Excellent stay"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-23
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Had a really nice stay, no issues to report, great service in the bar for food. Slept well. Breakfast was very busy but they handled it well Our tables were cleared fully as we were up getting food in error, no big deal to us at all.

    • 5.0
      Rooms
    • 5.0
      Value
    • 5.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Location
    • 5.0
      Cleanliness
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Catherine Draper, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2023-01-25
    • Dear dmatth385828 for your feedback. I am pleased that you had an excellent stay and I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Catherine

  • "Excellent friendly service, we’ll be back"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-23
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We stayed here for a night, the health club was clean and well equipped. The hotel rooms were excellent. What made me write the review was the friendly, personable service received by Emily at check in and by Paul at breakfast. It’s the welcoming genuine nature of people that really helps distinguish your stay from the others. We’ll definitely be back. Well done Radisson and we’ll done Emily & Paul.

    • Stuart Lloyd, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2023-01-23
    • We're delighted to know your stay was enjoyable rlinster. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, our team will be overjoyed to read your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Stuart

  • "Wonderful afternoon tea."

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-20
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We had afternoon tea here as a treat for my fiancé and I. It was a lovely experience and I will definitely return. The food was super tasty and the ambience and the staff were very friendly too. We look forward to our next visit If you live near Durham give it a try 👍🙏✔️

    • Stuart Lloyd, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2023-01-23
    • Dear KarmaPaul, We're grateful for your feedback and delighted to know you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience. Thanks for your kind recommendation and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stuart

  • "Great hotel made even better by the lovely staff!!"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2023-01-19
    • Trip type: Couples
  • This was our 5th visit & we were recognised by reception staff like good friends & we both felt very welcome. Our stay this time was 4 nights & to accomodate us in the same room throughout, we were given a room in a quieter part of the hotel. Unfortunately this room did not have a windiw that opened & was far too hot for me, even using a/c. However, after bringing this to the attention of the reception, anither more suitable was provided. All staff, including reception, breakfast, maintainance & housekeeping (& more especually Stephen), will do their utmost to make guests stay the best that it can be. Also some praise has to go to the spa, which is well maintained & well staffed. A place where most guests spend at least some of their stay. Can't wait to return.

    • Stuart Lloyd, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review 2023-01-23
    • Dear Elaine L, Thank you for choosing to return and stay with us for your extended visit to Durham. I'm delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable and the team will be encouraged by your kind words. We're fortunate to have many team members who naturally want to ensure the expectations of our guests are exceeded and I'm delighted that reflected in your experience. We do look forward to being of service again in the future and thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. Kind Regards, Stuart

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC