TripAdvisor traveler rating

1674 reviews
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Southend-on-Sea

Type of traveler

Excellent
467
Very Good
580
Average
339
Poor
152
Terrible
136

Traveler rating

Business
299
Couples
642
Solo travel
66
Family
382
Friends getaway
191

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
Cleanliness
4.0

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Simple advice - choose a room in another hotel! (gordong237)
    1.0
    2019-06-15
  • There are 3 lifts & we never had to wait for them but the restaurant & bar are on the first floor so ideal for convenience (Yana12)
    3.0
    2019-06-08
  • Request upper floor with view of pier or second floor for a balcony. (Peacefox)
    3.0
    2019-06-04
  • Sea view 3rd floor (SotonGirl98)
    4.0
    2019-05-28
  • Pier side will be brighter and not overlooked (TerryCParkin)
    2.0
    2019-05-03

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Decent place to stay in Southend"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-29
    • Trip type: Couples
  • While Southend may not be to everyone's liking (especially as it can be a 'lively' town in the evening) , we stayed overnight after a meal in the town. Good, comfortable room, decent shower, and friendly staff.Only things that let it down were no I site parking (you can park in a car park opposite at a reduced rate) and breakfast wasn't included. But if I needed a place to stay central to Southend high street, the station or the pier I'd have no issues with staying here again.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • AlanS4979, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review 2019-01-29
    • Graybags, thank you for your review after your recent stay in lively Southend Thank you for your honest review, we do have rates available with breakfast so please look out for them next time. As we are not blessed with parking we have a special rate at the Royals car park opposite, im glad you used it. Hope to see you soon

  • "Very nice and close to the see nice view, parking ok bice people good serving desk people very polite"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-21
    • Trip type: Couples
  • All the personal very nice good servicees i just can wait to go back very close to shoping personal from reception very polite and kind all great bar and restaurant clean and tidy all ok i was very happy

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • AlanS4979, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review 2019-01-23
    • Mobile07346444445, thank you for your review and feedback I will pass on your thanks to all concerned but especially the reception team Look forward to seeing you again soon

  • "Quite shockingly disappointing"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-17
    • Trip type: Business
  • I know it’s not a Radisson Blue, and I know that I got a discounted rate, but it carries the Radisson name and I was expecting more.I was given a disabled room, not an issue except that the bed had no pillows and there were none in the room, there was an ironing board but no iron, no remote for the TV, a leaking outflow pipe from the toilet with an accompanying stained floor and remnants in and on the toilet. The TV had no power or signal leads - not just not plugged in, but not there at all. I was asked, in all seriousness, 'Do you really want to watch TV?' It seems that the room had been scavenged for parts to service other rooms. The room was uninviting and needed a refresh. The disabled chair in the shower was rusted and stained and the wind whined through the window in the room.Being moved to another room, staff were unable to get the power on. When this was resolved I again found an ironing board but no iron, a non functioning lamp and another rusting and stained shower chair. About 30 minutes after checking in, I could finally settle in a room.That said, I did manage a decent sleep. Heating/air con seemed effective, though noisy.Breakfast was average with a nice view over the pier from the window. The gym looked good.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • AlanS4979, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review 2019-01-21
    • Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are terribly sorry to hear your experience with us was a disappointing one. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please reach out to us directly and we will assist you in any way we can

  • "Great view, everything else a bit average"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-17
    • Trip type: Solo travel
  • Had various minor issues - asked for a double bed, got two twins (they moved me). Room key wouldn't switch on lights. Handsoap empty. Aircon was on and freezing. Shower soap holder was broken. Disgusting stains on room carpet.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • AlanS4979, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review 2019-01-21
    • LaughingJane, thank you for your feedback I will share your issues with the team to get them addressed, apologies they were not sorted before your arrival

  • "not great"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-14
    • Trip type: Couples
  • not very friendlyroom was dirty and very shabbycracked tilesmouldy masticdirty carpetbroken windowshabby corridorsvery tired needs closing a re-fit and a deep clean, the cleaners probably are trying but its just too far gone, young staff nothing actually wrong with them but lack knowledge, exterior again very tired and sign half illuminated.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • AlanS4979, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review 2019-01-15
    • Traveler13440759938 it is with regret that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, we are in the process of organising a refurbishment of some of the hotel bedrooms. We hope you will revisit when we have completed them

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC