TripAdvisor traveler rating

tripadvisor rating 4.0 344 reviews
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Kristiansand

Traveler rating

Excellent
198
Very Good
77
Average
31
Poor
23
Terrible
15

Type of traveler

Business
69
Couples
118
Solo travel
16
Family
76
Friends getaway
29

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • see if you can get the mini suites on the 3rd floor. (JGR001)
    5.0
    2022-09-27
  • Parking out front - we found out later had to go to the machine but we didn’t see it until too late (CMChang)
    3.0
    2022-08-25
  • Consider the Scandic or the Thon. (John B)
    3.0
    2022-07-16
  • Visit the upstairs Bar and try the whiskey sours. Best ones in the city. (Relax10045796720)
    5.0
    2021-10-01
  • Corner suite is recommended, as room at one of the higher levels (Henry G)
    5.0
    2021-09-15

Traveler reviews

  • "What an impressive hotel at the edge of Kristiansand’s commercial strip Markengate!"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-09-27
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Radisson Blu sits at the edge of the shipyard – unfortunately, it’s a container yard that sits close to the Radisson compound so a bit of an eyesore if your eye wanders westward. But look the opposite way and you can see the waters of But it also lies very near Markensgate, the pedestrianized shooping street that full of shops, malls, restaurants and bars. Markensgate on the other hand sits at the edge of the Torvet, the main square of the city. It’s also beside the famed fish market Fiskebrygga. So it’s a great location (save for the container yard). The hotel has a huge parking area, handy if you’re coming with your own car. The room we were given was on the 3rd floor and the 3rd floor rooms all have their own wide balconies with sofa set, coffee table, and swinging chair. It’s set higher than the guest room floor so you take three steps up to go outside and enjoy Kristiansand’s great weather. The 3rd floor business class rooms also have a separate seating-coffee table area that even has its own sliding door for privacy. It has a sofa bed too. The room is slightly larger than most Radissons (and that’s not including the separate alcove). There’s a proper writing desk. There are decent accent lights, large wall-mounted TV, safe, coffee machine and hot pot, and ref. My wife appreciated the safe since it was inside a pull-out cabinet so the safe door faced up, not front. Two large ceramic lamps were on each of the night stands, quite an unusual touch. There were touches of leather – the tops of the two coffee tables in the ‘living area, the tissue box, trash can, and the headboard. Also – and much appreciated – there were outlets and USB ports on the side of the night stands that fronted the bed. Temperature control was separate for both the ‘living room’ and the bedroom. There’s no carpeting but the floor is nice wooden tiles (or it looked like it anyway). If I had to complain, it would only be about the small number of TV channels. There was only BBC for news but even that was disabled for some reason. The T&B was pretty large in area with a classy shower enclosure which folded and in smoked glass. Toiletries were wall-attached dispensers, by the Norwegian cosmetics house Sprekenhus. They were pretty complete, with shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower and hand wash and body lotion in the sink. The T&B also had a similar sliding door as the living area. Breakfast is at the same place as the evening restaurant, which is why most of the chairs and tables are large and spread apart, except for a section with small close tables and small chairs. Which would explain the soft lighting, which isn't too appropriate for breakfast. The spread is quite diverse, with lots of different cheeses, lots of breads, lots of cold cuts and fresh veggies. But unlike the Radisson Blu Atlantic in Stavanger where we came from, there was no hot coffee pot on every table nor an option to order complimentary a la carte items from a menu. There were also very few waitresses cleaning up. But my biggest complaint is that the hot food section wasn't hot at all. The omelet slices were cold, the fried eggs were cold, the sausages were mildly warm, there was no bacon save for a few over-fried pieces on top of the fried eggs. This to me was the biggest dining black mark.

    • 5.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Cleanliness
    • 4.0
      Service
  • "Excellent location, excellent service and excellent breakfast 💕"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-08-21
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • Our stay in the hotel was a good start on my best friend wedding day. The beds was amazing to sleep in. The breakfast is so delicious and the area gives you the feeling that you don't want the day to start. You just want to hang out and drink coffee. The staff is very service minded, and the staff in the reception when we checked in was very helpful and friendly. The view from our room was amazing, the room was very clean and comfortable.

    • Hege Nevestad, General Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review 2022-09-01
    • Dear Jeanetteberaas, Thank you for your excellent feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you back with us shortly. Best regards Hege Julianne Nevestad General Mananger

  • "Great Location with a pleasant stay!"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-07-29
    • Trip type: Business
  • Nice modern hotel located at the heart of Kristiansand. Staff was very friendly and polite. This was my second time at the hotel and I stayed 4 nights total on a business trip and had a very good time. Breakfast is certainly a highlight. After a 3 min walk you are surrounded by nice restaurants and bars with a nice view to the bay! Would certainly come back and recommend!

    • Hege Nevestad, General Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review 2022-07-31
    • Dear 676RafaelC, Thank you for your amazing review here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and Kristiansand city. We hope to see you back again with us shortly. Best regards Hege Julianne Nevestad General Manager

  • "Great breakfast, Great views, a hotel for relaxing"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-07-01
    • Trip type: Business
  • I was really impressed with the quality of the breakfast, enjoying different yogurts, fruits, fish, eggs, juices, and espresso. The view from my room was one of the best in many trips. The room was fit for resting and enjoying the view. I did not find a desk for working in the room and very few places to plug my PC. Wrong place for working, good place for resting and enjoying life.

    • 5.0
      Value
    • 5.0
      Sleep Quality
    • 5.0
      Service
    • Hege Nevestad, General Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review 2022-07-12
    • Dear Rodolfo R, Thank you so much for your feedback here on Tripadvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed you time here at Hotel Caledonien and got some proper rest. Thank you for the feedback regarding few places to plug you PC to charge. We hope to see you back with us here at Hotel Caledonien soon. Best regards Hege Julianne Nevestad General Manager

  • "Excellent!"

  • tripadvisor rating 5.0
    • Reviewed: 2022-05-03
    • Trip type: Business
  • Beautiful hotel! I stayed in a family room with fold-down bunk beds. The room was well-appointed with herringbone parquet floors, design lightnng,outlets by the nightstands, chromecast-supported TV, fridge and nice toiletries. Breakfast was very good as well. My new favorite hotel in Kristiansand.

    • Hege Nevestad, General Manager at Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand, responded to this review 2022-05-03
    • Dear Edonis, Thank you for your amazing review here on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed your room. We hope to see you back with us shortly. Best regards Hege Julianne Nevestad General Manager

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC