TripAdvisor traveler rating

2930 reviews
Ranked #25 of 74 hotels in Cardiff
"GreenLeader Bronze" GreenLeader Bronze

Type of traveler

Excellent
1177
Very Good
1090
Average
405
Poor
160
Terrible
98

Traveler rating

Business
663
Couples
1255
Solo travel
136
Family
328
Friends getaway
343

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Go to another hotel (sco268210)
    2.0
    2019-07-26
  • Go to another hotel (platypus7)
    2.0
    2019-07-20
  • On each floor ask for rooms above numbers15 as the lifts are very noisy in room numbers below that. (rockyroad23)
    2.0
    2019-07-19
  • Based on our experience I can not recommend any room in this hotel (elisabethperth)
    2.0
    2019-07-16
  • ask for a corner room on a high floor. (Cath E)
    5.0
    2019-07-09

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Going downhill"

    • Reviewed: 2019-05-21
    • Trip type: Business
  • Platinum Member, and business guest who has been staying here every week for 18 months. Great location near Cardiff Central station, the Principality Stadium, the Motorpoint Arena, and the centre of town shopping centre. Also close to many central business offices. Restaurant has a great reputation but is very expensive considering the vast number of great restaurants within short walking distance. 'Gym' is adequate but basically a room with 4 bits of equipment in it. Seems to be going slowly downhill : the check-in queues seem to be getting gradually longer, and reception seems to be getting more stretched in general. ALSO there has just been a change in the room classifications/facilities - it seems the management are on a cost-saving crusade. Notably, as a regular, I was despairing to find that most rooms have just had their fridges removed. That was a key plus for me. Need to look elsewhere now and think about changing my existing and future bookings.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Sameer G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review 2019-05-23
    • Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback. Thank you also for your loyalty and I was really sorry to read of your concerns which I would have been more than happy to discuss and address for you. Regarding the queues at reception they have been due to system failure, as our server need replacing, the order has been placed and the current one has been temporarily repaired to restore flow of service. The fridges being removed from certain type of rooms are part of our plan to reduce our carbon footprint as we acknowledged that they were rarely used however in your case, we are more than happy to allocate a room containing one. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and I will contact you through email to discuss this further in order to restore your faith in our services. Yours sincerely, Jean-Marc Poumel General Manager

  • "Need to do better"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-31
    • Trip type: Business
  • I would never recommend this hotel sadly. After a full day and a long drive I was looking forward to getting into my room where I was booked in for two nights. I wanted a room with a bath and was told there weren't any available. The room I was given was hideous - furniture really tired, chipped and old. There was a massive unsightly stain on the carpet and the whole room was unpleasant. I went to reception and asked to be moved and the duty manager (who was lovely and apologetic) found me another room - a room, lo and behold, that had a bath but was only marginally better than the previous one in terms of decor. I settle in (despite the remains of a previous guest still evident in the room) and go to order room service but there's no menu in the room. I pick up the phone to ask for one - the phone doesn't work. I try calling on my mobile externally - no one picks up. I go back down to reception and have to wait ages as there's hardly any staff on. The same manager comes back with me to try and fix the phone but to no avail. I now have to move again. I've spent most of the evening up and down to reception or moving rooms. The manager tried to make up for it with a breakfast voucher and taking off the room service tray charge. Radisson in Cardiff is in dire need of facelift. This just isn't what you'd expect from the brand and it's unfair your frontline staff bear the brunt of the complaints. My colleagues stayed there too - none of us were impressed. One also had to change rooms as the heating wasn't working and another had to have a temp heater put in as there's too wasn't working properly. Parking too is extortion at £20 per day. On checkout I never got the courtesy 'how was your stay?' as I think the staff already know what the answers will be. I'm unlikely to stay in a Radisson again after the experience of the last couple of days. I've never reviewed anything online but felt compelled to as I was so shocked at how shoddy it was.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • Sameer G, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review 2019-02-01
    • Dear Guest, I was deeply sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay. I personally would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. I will be passing on your comments regarding the room decor with our Owners in view of further planned refurbishment. Further more to this i will be sure to investigate the maintenance issues you had in the room also. in the meantime Please do not hesitate to contact me directly as we would be delighted to be given a further chance to restore your faith in our Hotel. Regards Mike Newman Reception Manager

  • "Lovely get away weekend"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-21
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Lovely nice room on the 18th floor. Had a lovely bathroom! Nice little view. Food could of been cheaper as I went out into Cardiff for food instead of eating in the hotel. Could of had extra pillows and feel like there could of been more channels on the tv.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Sameer G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review 2019-01-25
    • Dear Guest, We were delighted to read that, overall, you really enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your constructive feedback. Two extra pillow are located on the wardrobe of each room and further additional ones can be delivered if requested to House Keeping or Reception. I appreciate that you may have found cheaper dishes in regular High Street brand restaurant however our dishes are of high quality, mainly cooked from fresh ingredient and are priced to offer great value for money. Watch out for our Daily Specials and Seasonal Offers too! We offer a large number of channel, including News channels in different language as well as pay per view movies which are complimentary in our business class rooms! Thank you again for your feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future! Yours sincerely, Jean-Marc Poumel General Manager

  • "Excellent"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-14
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Myself and partner stayed here for leisure and was amazed at the service provided! The hotel was spotless and staff couldn’t do more for us!! When I phoned saying we would be later than anticipated the lady over the phone couldn’t reassure me enough that it was absolutely fine and they will welcome us very soon, Will definitely be visiting again!! 😁

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Sameer G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review 2019-01-25
    • Dear Guest, We were delighted to read that, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay particularly the service provided. We are really privilege to have such a great team always ready to go the extra mile for our valued guests. Thank you again for such great feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future! Yours sincerely, Jean-Marc Poumel General Manager

  • "One Night Only"

    • Reviewed: 2018-12-16
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We Recently stayed at this hotel to enjoy a Christmas Party in Cardiff When we checked in there was a problem with the room rate we where charged £149 with No Breakfast and £20 to park the cat overnight, As we booked through booking.com on a price guarantee with breakfast the price for the room on the day of our stay was £129. After some explaining and confusion the manager told me he would look into this. On returning to reception 2 hours later the manager Reluctantly gave us 2 breakfast vouchers and No Explanation on what had gone wrong with our booking and still charged me £149 and £20 parking The room we stayed in was well worn as to say and no tea bags only coffee was left for us to enjoy. The Staff where not the most helpful and there English was not to a high enough standard to deal with customers. I Feel for the rate of £149 per night this hotel was of a poor standard on service and wouldn't recommend staying there. There are far better hotels in Cardiff.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Sameer G, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review 2019-01-15
    • Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write to us about your recent experience. We are sorry that we did not match your expectations on this occasion. We have taken your feedback on board and all corrective actions have been taken to make sure that issues like these don't reoccur. I hope this experience will not refrain you from using us in the future and you will give us another opportunity to serve you better. Your's Sincerely, Sameer Gangoli Operations Manager

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC