TripAdvisor traveler rating

2166 reviews
Ranked #38 of 118 hotels in Cape Town Central
"Certificate of Excellence 2019" Certificate of Excellence 2019

Type of traveler

Excellent
1228
Very Good
623
Average
180
Poor
71
Terrible
64

Traveler rating

Business
509
Couples
863
Solo travel
96
Family
382
Friends getaway
199

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • go for full sea view, not partial see view as you will get partial big wall view. (Marcin-KRK-1980)
    5.0
    2019-08-07
  • 1st-floor executive room in the corner with views of the ocean (LolsUK)
    5.0
    2019-07-02
  • Request see view (Bluberg)
    5.0
    2019-06-30
  • Sea View rooms a must (Peter S)
    5.0
    2019-06-26
  • Must get a sea view - worth the extra cost (Colleen M)
    5.0
    2019-05-21

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Upgrade made for a brilliant stay"

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-30
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Arrived on the 26th June for 1 night and mentioned to Cindy at reception that myself and my wife were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Sulaiman advised us that we we were being upgraded to a 2 roomed suite. On entering the suite we discovered a bottle of complimentary sparkling wine and a personalised card from the management. My wife was thrilled! We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and the experience remains the same, greats rooms with an incomparable view and very friendly and helpful staff. We wish we had the means to live in this hotel permanently!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • ClintonThom, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review 2019-07-01
    • Dear Bluberg, Thank you for your amazing review and top score, it is greatly appreciated! I am delighted that you decided to celebrate such a special occasion with us. I will be sure to share your positive words with my awesome team to continue to motivate and inspire them to deliver exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Until then.... Sunny regards, Clinton Thom General Manager

  • "Better trained staff, to be more professional and go beyond the borders of Cape Town"

    • Reviewed: 2019-05-16
    • Trip type: Solo travel
  • I was very disappointed with my stay, as your hotel is suppose to be one of the best hotels around the waterfront. I had made a reservation at the Tobago's restaurant before arriving in South Africa, and actually cancelled when I arrived at the restaurant, as it just didn't have that welcoming atmosphere that I was looking for, or that I somehow expected, based on the photos shown on your website, my friends and I ended up going for dinner somewhere else. I DID mention all of these things that I was not happy with to the front desk when I checked out. I'm Cape Townian and been living abroad for the past 20yrs, and I hate to say it but I did feel that as a person of color, as a guest in your hotel, did not receive the same quality of attention then foreigners or white people in general received. I definitely never have this feeling/impression wherever I've traveled abroad. I work for the United Nations in Switzerland, and our aim is to respect diversity, it's my daily challenge and I didn't think going home and staying in your hotel would remind me of that. Again my advice is, train your staff to be more professional and go beyond the color of the skin or the nationality. Be more open to diversity....

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • ClintonThom, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review 2019-05-20
    • Dear judeslec, Thank you for your review. We ARE one of the best hotels around and are known for THE BEST LOCATION AND VIEWS IN CAPE TOWN. We are also known for having the friendliest service around. Being a fellow Capetonian, I am totally taken aback by your narrative. I haven't heard dialogue like that in about twenty years! We were all once victims of apartheid and we all bear the scars thereof, but we have also been working tirelessly to heal them in the true spirit of Ubuntu. We have one of the most vibrant multi-cultural diversities in the world. We have come a long way and still have a long way to go - What an exhilarating time to be here! I am so very sorry that you felt staff treated you less than others because of the colour of your skin, this is not our intention. Our staff are fully trained by our group's International standards, leaving no place for any racial prejudice. We have no tolerance for it. Please message us privately in order to get to the bottom of this to ensure that the same does not recur. Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to the "Mother City". Kindest regards, Claudia Kocks Personal Assistant to Clinton Thom | GM

  • "poor and shocking service from the manager of the Tobago restaurant"

    • Reviewed: 2019-02-28
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • It was a friends birthday, 8 of us decided to meet at the restaurant for light meals and dessert. We ordered 2 x butter chicken Pizzas, Calamari strips etc .When the first pizza arrived 40 minutes later, we had to ask the waiter to bring side plates etc . She brought the drinks and served it across the table, I had to pass it on to my friends . We tasted the pizza and the cheese ( Mozzarella) tasted off . We called the waiter and told her there was something wrong and asked her to rather cancel the other pizza. The manager by the name of Obey came and insisted there was absolutely nothing wrong with the Pizza . we asked if they maybe used a different kind of cheese. We wasted 2 thirds Pizza , it tasted really awful. The manager gave us real attitude and almost knocked over one of the coffee cups and didn't even apologise. We decided then not to have desert and asked for the bill ,I told him we prepared to pay for the pizza but only for the slices we ate( 3of us had a bite to taste. he discounted the bill by R11.50 LOL. #5star hotel #bad service#unhappy customers, I have quite a few friends in travel and tourism , i am a frequent traveller myself . will definitely inform them to not bring their clients to this restaurant. the view is awesome and beautiful but the staff don't do justice.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • ClintonThom, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review 2019-03-01
    • Dear Nawaal J, Thank you for your honest review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case, we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. I have shared your feedback with my team and would like to assure you that your concerns are currently being addressed. In case there is anything further I may assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Sincerely, Clinton Thom General Manager

  • "Great Hotel with stunning view"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-25
    • Trip type: Business
  • Incredible hotel, within walking distance to the V & A Waterfront and Mouille Point. Safe. Great restaurant and spa and fitness and conference venues in the hotel.Staff friendly and very helpfulRooms super

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • ClintonThom, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review 2019-01-29
    • Dear 813sharon, Thank you for your awesome review and score, it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the "Mother City". Kind regards, Clinton Thom General Manager

  • "Brilliant Radisson Granger Bay"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-13
    • Trip type: Family
  • Excellent location, breathtaking views, excellent service from all staff, clean, efficient, helpful, food delicious, pool area beautiful and service good, rooms excellent, cater for all needs, will be back!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • ClintonThom, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review 2019-01-18
    • Dear Brigitte L We are delighted that you had such a great time with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to score us & leave such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Cape Town. Sunny Regards Nicol Carelse Guest Relations Manager

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC