TripAdvisor traveler rating

2268 reviews
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Athlone
"Certificate of Excellence 2019" Certificate of Excellence 2019

Type of traveler

Excellent
889
Very Good
711
Average
366
Poor
164
Terrible
138

Traveler rating

Business
412
Couples
871
Solo travel
61
Family
454
Friends getaway
307

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Go for a junior suite (Nemmer2018)
    5.0
    2019-10-29
  • We only ate at hotel, did not stay but would not recommend eating there (hazel m)
    1.0
    2019-09-07
  • Average hotel in handy location with off street parking, but don't expect 4 star treatment from staff. (rwilson215)
    3.0
    2019-09-04
  • ask for a river view or balcony as the rooms very very hot. (Maria_TMW)
    3.0
    2019-07-21
  • 1st floor and stay on the River Side of the Hotel and to the South side of the Hotel (simoncraigie)
    3.0
    2019-07-06

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Hen Weekend"

    • Reviewed: 2019-05-20
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • We are just back from an amazing stay at this hotel. The staff were brilliant and couldn’t do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble from a quick checkin at reception to great service in the restaurant. All the bar staff were fantastic and a special mention for Henry & Anthony. They made our cocktail class so much fun and the cocktails were fantastic. Anthony’s own gin cocktail needs to be on the bar menu - it’s delicious. Thank you from all of us at Catherine’s Hen - we loved it 😜

    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-05-24
    • Dear Andrea, Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to hear your group enjoyed their time with us, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Best regards Fergus O'Donovan General Manager

  • "Friendly Service"

    • Reviewed: 2019-03-15
    • Trip type: Business
  • This hotel is in an excellent location with good parking facilities. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming.Avril at breakfast and Brian on reception make a real effort to make you welcome and to give you that personal attention; the warmth of an Irish welcome is much appreciated, thank you, Pete

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-03-15
    • Peter K, Many thanks for this glowing review! I am pleased to hear of the warmth Irish experience you had with us and I look forward to sharing your review with Avril and Brian. We at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

  • "recent visit"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-21
    • Trip type: Couples
  • What a fabulous hotel, we are just back from our overnight visit, we got a lovely room upgrade, food was gorgeous, evening meal and breakfast. A big Thank You to the lovely receptionist that checked us in on Sunday, she was so helpful and friendly! We will definitely be returning< Thank You.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-01-22
    • Many thanks for your great review following your recent stay in the hotel. I am thrilled to read that you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

  • "weekend away"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-21
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • Great staff,great hotel loved every minute,food was great in the quayside lounge,breakfast very good also,room very clean ,slept really well,parking very easy overall a great time was had by my freind and myself,we will be back thank you.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-01-22
    • Dear Joan, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read that you had such a great time. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

  • "Beautiful hotel"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-19
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Attended an event in the hotel. Rooms are so clean, loads of extras in the room which is such a nice touch. Such good value for money. Breakfast was good, loads of different options to choose from. Food was delicious but it did take 40mins to arrive, and it wasn't busy at this stage so that was the only disappointment.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-01-21
    • Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we very much appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to read your comments regarding the rooms and that the food was delicious. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC