TripAdvisor traveler rating

2184 reviews
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Athlone
"Certificate of Excellence 2019" Certificate of Excellence 2019

Type of traveler

Excellent
853
Very Good
694
Average
346
Poor
157
Terrible
134

Traveler rating

Business
393
Couples
850
Solo travel
59
Family
430
Friends getaway
297

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • ask for a river view or balcony as the rooms very very hot. (Maria_TMW)
    3.0
    2019-07-21
  • 1st floor and stay on the River Side of the Hotel and to the South side of the Hotel (simoncraigie)
    3.0
    2019-07-06
  • If staying in warm weather ask for room with balcony or doors that open fully. (Fiona O)
    5.0
    2019-06-29
  • View of the shannon (Flagstaff62)
    5.0
    2019-06-18
  • Ask for a fourth floor room if you like views. (seanc114)
    4.0
    2019-06-05

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Single Use Plastics"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-19
    • Trip type: Couples
  • I recently attended a music concert, 'Mack Fleetwood'. We had a very enjoyable night. However, all drinks were served in disposable plastic glasses. Mixers were served in glass bottles. Considering the age profile of those attending I feel that reusable glasses would be more appropriate. MMCC

    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-07-24
    • Matty M, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I value your constructive comments and they will be shared with the bar manager and operations team. I hope you enjoyed the Mack Fleetwood concert and we all hope to welcome you back to another concert in the future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

  • "Thanks"

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-26
    • Trip type: Business
  • Lovely hotel Very friendly staff most helpful Thanks Avril for courteous welcome to breakfast each morning Great place to stay for business or family I certainly will be back again. Muchmuch Thanks Mary

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-06-29
    • Mary M, You are very welcome Mary! Thank you for this lovely recommendation and the lovely comments about Avril. I look forward to sharing this review with her. I look forward to your return. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

  • "Hen Weekend"

    • Reviewed: 2019-05-20
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • We are just back from an amazing stay at this hotel. The staff were brilliant and couldn’t do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble from a quick checkin at reception to great service in the restaurant. All the bar staff were fantastic and a special mention for Henry & Anthony. They made our cocktail class so much fun and the cocktails were fantastic. Anthony’s own gin cocktail needs to be on the bar menu - it’s delicious. Thank you from all of us at Catherine’s Hen - we loved it 😜

    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-05-24
    • Dear Andrea, Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to hear your group enjoyed their time with us, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Best regards Fergus O'Donovan General Manager

  • "Friendly Service"

    • Reviewed: 2019-03-15
    • Trip type: Business
  • This hotel is in an excellent location with good parking facilities. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming.Avril at breakfast and Brian on reception make a real effort to make you welcome and to give you that personal attention; the warmth of an Irish welcome is much appreciated, thank you, Pete

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-03-15
    • Peter K, Many thanks for this glowing review! I am pleased to hear of the warmth Irish experience you had with us and I look forward to sharing your review with Avril and Brian. We at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

  • "recent visit"

    • Reviewed: 2019-01-21
    • Trip type: Couples
  • What a fabulous hotel, we are just back from our overnight visit, we got a lovely room upgrade, food was gorgeous, evening meal and breakfast. A big Thank You to the lovely receptionist that checked us in on Sunday, she was so helpful and friendly! We will definitely be returning< Thank You.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review 2019-01-22
    • Many thanks for your great review following your recent stay in the hotel. I am thrilled to read that you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC