TripAdvisor traveler rating

1750 reviews
Ranked #42 of 82 hotels in San Jose
"GreenLeader Platinum" GreenLeader Platinum

Type of traveler

Excellent
582
Very Good
604
Average
327
Poor
132
Terrible
105

Traveler rating

Business
518
Couples
489
Solo travel
151
Family
335
Friends getaway
178

Rating summary

Location
4.0
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.0

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • all rooms are gorgeous, if you can get a view of the pool all the better. (teri e)
    5.0
    2019-07-29
  • If you like to sleep-in, don’t get a room facing the road (Olieball)
    4.0
    2019-07-01
  • great AARP rages and excellent, tender loving care service (Daydream715930)
    5.0
    2019-04-24
  • Facing the pool. City view is nothing to brag about. (A103V)
    3.0
    2019-03-20
  • Choose top floor ones for a good view of the city (VaraPrasad G)
    4.0
    2019-02-27

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Great value hotel in centre of Costa Rica"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-15
    • Trip type: Family
  • Great value for money. Amazing spacious rooms. Beds adjustable for firmness. Good service at check in and out. Average breakfast. The mini bar however was very expensive however easy to avoid using this as there is a bar and restaurant in the hotel.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Fantastic Review"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-10
    • Trip type: Couples
  • We appreciate everything the staff did for us! From the moment we arrived until our departure any one of our needs were met and exceeded our expectations! Alvero, Julia, and Mercedes made sure every morning we were taken care of! We truly appreciate everything!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Vacationing in Costa Rica"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-05
    • Trip type: Family
  • We had good experience in your hotel, it was the start of a 10 day tour of Costa Rica. We actually spent three nights in your hotel, July 2 and on our return July 9 and July 10, We checked out on July 11 to continue our vacation to Ecuador and Latter on to Panama.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Beware Prostitutes use this Hotel"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-04
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • I had made arrangements to stay with a friend I had met a couple of years earlier at the Marriott San Jose. After medical treatment, my Dr's allowed me to travel. I chose San Jose and the hotel due to a special booking rate. I notified my friend who offered to stay with me. Unware of her true personality, she was either un-stable or a prostitute. Given she wanted money and attacked me, I believe she is a prostitute. Her name is Daniela Roman Vargas. And she played me. When I refused to pay her, she attacked me in room 4140, stole my phone, credit cards, wallet and cash. I went to the front desk to resolve the issue, but they separated us and security was of no help in finding my stolen goods. I was left with no money and the hotel kindly paid for my taxi to the airport.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Meryen U, Quality Supervisor at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review 2019-08-05
    • Dear guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a comments about you're most recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, Radisson San José respect the privacy of our guests and we’re fight against prostitution. Our team is working hard to make sure that our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. We appreciate your opinions and it will be an honor if you consider as again in the future.

  • "Beware - Radisson is just in the name"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-04
    • Trip type: Family
  • We highly regret staying a single night in this mess of a hotel but are glad we canceled the second night. We reserved a King suite for our first night and a double queen for our second (to meet family). We were given a room that was yet to be cleaned entirely (messy and dirty bathrooms, beds, and moldy stench). We then had to wait a while until we were given another room with rock hard queen beds, with a stronger moldy stench, a broken shower head, and no working AC (although to their credit they told us about the AC problems). This hotel doesnt appear to be anything close to Radisson standards, it needs major updates and improvements from A to Z.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Meryen U, Quality Supervisor at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this review 2019-08-05
    • Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfying due to the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us at that time. We always desire for our valued guest's experience to be exceptional and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it helps us facilitate all the necessary improvements to provide an outstanding service. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC