TripAdvisor traveler rating

386 reviews
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Elgin
"Certificate of Excellence 2019" Certificate of Excellence 2019

Type of traveler

Excellent
212
Very Good
110
Average
36
Poor
16
Terrible
12

Traveler rating

Business
89
Couples
48
Solo travel
18
Family
191
Friends getaway
31

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • Rooms facing to the back of the hotel may be more quiet. That being said, all rooms I have stayed at here have been quiet. (Per-Ingar)
    5.0
    2018-10-16
  • We were given first floor just down hall from front desk as we advised about the wife’s mobility issues. (Dale F)
    4.0
    2018-09-26
  • Poolside lifts were not functional. (Kelly F)
    4.0
    2018-07-08
  • Ground floor the loudest (Caitlin L)
    3.0
    2018-05-09
  • We had an end room - very quiet (Maureen K)
    5.0
    2016-07-19

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Very accommodating"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-07
    • Trip type: Family
  • My family stayed at this hotel during my mothers hospital stay and her funeral. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location to Sherman Hospital is why I have stayed at this hotel in the past and will most definitely stay there again.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Smelled like a gym locker"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-29
    • Trip type: Family
  • We stayed there while my daughter’s club team played a few games in Elgin, IL. The whole hotel smelled like sweaty athletic wear and our room smelled musty. The carpet was stained and there were remnants of food and wrappers from the previous guest on the floor. The hair dryer didn’t work at all ever after my attempts to reset the GFI and unplug it and plug it back in. The pool had a funky green color to it. The only positive was that the breakfast buffet was decent.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • elgincountry, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Elgin, IL, responded to this review 2019-08-02
    • Dear christinaf625, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of your room and the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

  • "Feels like home"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-21
    • Trip type: Business
  • Been traveling to Elgin for business for many years, staying several weeks each visit. The staff is welcoming, the breakfast abundant and delicious. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the temperature is easily controlled by the guest. The only issue is the internet...it’s pretty slow and you need to sign in with every use - Overall, a great place to call home when you can’t be there.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Very nice stay"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-21
    • Trip type: Family
  • Love staying here while traveling. Convenient location, nice staff, good breakfast, and a clean facility. Have stayed here a few times and plan to stay again more. I would recommend highly to anyone whether staying for business or leisure.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Good"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-19
    • Trip type: Business
  • Staff was friendly and overall the facility was clean. The wall and floor coverings in the room is starting to show some age. The mattresses could stand to be updates as well. I was there for 4 nights and the breakfast variety was good. I would stay there again.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC