TripAdvisor traveler rating

399 reviews
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Elgin
"Certificate of Excellence 2019" Certificate of Excellence 2019

Type of traveler

Excellent
219
Very Good
111
Average
38
Poor
18
Terrible
13

Traveler rating

Business
92
Couples
49
Solo travel
18
Family
197
Friends getaway
32

Rating summary

Location
4.5
Sleep Quality
4.5
Rooms
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • When I made the reservation I asked for a quiet room not near an elevator or an ice/vending machine. (Karen D)
    5.0
    2019-11-11
  • Rooms facing to the back of the hotel may be more quiet. That being said, all rooms I have stayed at here have been quiet. (Per-Ingar)
    5.0
    2018-10-16
  • We were given first floor just down hall from front desk as we advised about the wife’s mobility issues. (Dale F)
    4.0
    2018-09-26
  • Poolside lifts were not functional. (Kelly F)
    4.0
    2018-07-08
  • Ground floor the loudest (Caitlin L)
    3.0
    2018-05-09

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Personal Travel"

    • Reviewed: 2019-11-18
    • Trip type: Friends getaway
  • We enjoyed a nice stay at this friendly staffed facility with great accommodations. The facility was quiet, clean, and nicely decorated. The nearby restaurant was only across the parking lot and served great food.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Review"

    • Reviewed: 2019-11-12
    • Trip type: Family
  • Excellent service and reasonable rate and overall experience was pleasant. Will certainly return in the future if visiting the area again. Person at the front desk was very helpful and represented the hotel well

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Cozy and clean"

    • Reviewed: 2019-10-31
    • Trip type: Family
  • I stayed at the Country Inn, Elgin for the first time in 6+ years this past week. It hasn't really changed. While it looks a bit dated, I think that is also part of the charm. Everything was very clean and comfortable. I like that you can run the fan full time on the in-room A/C unit, such that it serves as a white-noise maker. That drowns out the noise from room doors closing or the elevator opening. I was there for pleasure, so I was able to use the workout room after the morning rush. The breakfast is pretty decent and certainly a worthy part of the bargain. Bed was comfy. Bathrooms were clean. Shower water power was fine.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Country Inn"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-30
    • Trip type: Couples
  • Very nice hotel.The staff was helpful and friendly The room was clean and liked that they provided extra pillows.We really did not enjoy the breakfast the food was bland and there wasn't much of a selection.Other than that we would stay at this hotel again.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
  • "Another very pleasant stay at this hotel"

    • Reviewed: 2019-08-24
    • Trip type: Family
  • Once again we enjoyed a clean comfortable room with a more than adequate breakfast available. There was hot coffee available throughout the day and evening as well. The staff was courteous and pleasant as always, and we appreciated the restaurant recommendations with a discount for being hotel guests.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC