TripAdvisor traveler rating

404 reviews
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Doswell

Type of traveler

Excellent
130
Very Good
128
Average
77
Poor
36
Terrible
33

Traveler rating

Business
40
Couples
74
Solo travel
15
Family
230
Friends getaway
21

Rating summary

Location
4.0
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Cleanliness
4.0

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • The rooms in the back will get the full effect of the trains but the view is much better. (John_Fereira)
    4.0
    2018-08-02
  • If you choose to stay here, check the room BEFORE registering. (Rich S)
    1.0
    2018-08-01
  • Rooms are pretty much the same, but they have "Suites" which have a separate sitting area. (joemess44)
    3.0
    2018-07-22
  • Recommed a second floor room so you don't hear everyone walking above you. (o311mom)
    5.0
    2018-06-04
  • Ask for a room on the WEST side of the property, to minimize train noise. (jwhensler)
    3.0
    2018-05-31

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Nasty & Not Safe"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-12
    • Trip type: Family
  • Our family got 2 rooms and both were dirty, and reeked of smoke. Furniture was worn down and filthy. There was a blood stain under the pull out sofa bed. Our vehicle was vandalize, so not a safe area at all. Staff was friendly and next to the theme park, but overall it was terrible. Never will stay here again.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Rujul S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), VA, responded to this review 2019-07-14
    • Dear Jmk24950 First of all, Thank You for providing this helpful feedback about your experience in our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, and especially our management, we want to offer to you our sincere apologies for your experience at our hotel. This is not the standard of Excellence we pride ourselves on here at the Country Inn & Suites by Radisson Doswell VA. We did not perform at our standards and we understand how that created an unfortunate experience. This is a teachable moment for our housekeeping team, and we are going to use this as an sincere lesson. We hope that we will have another opportunity to provide you with the Excellent Experience that you were looking for. Sincerely Country Inn & Suites Doswell

  • "Location primo"

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-27
    • Trip type: Family
  • Pros : Close to Kong’s dominion. Great shuttle service. Very nice breakfast. Very pleasant staff. Beds were quite comfortable Cons: pool is just nasty. No room safe. Bathrooms need renovation. Poor lighting. Laundry facility required quarters but no change machine. Front desk did not have a reasonable supply although very nicely said they would try to get more.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Rujul S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), VA, responded to this review 2019-06-28
    • Dear Dmlail42 Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed your concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. I will make sure we have enough change available for laundry equipment's. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely Country Inn & Suites Doswell By Radisson

  • "Dirty rooms"

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-26
    • Trip type: Family
  • The rooms in this hotel could have been a lot nicer. Carpets were stained and so were the curtains they also had holes in them.. Mattresses had stains on them. The toilet was disgusting and the tub looked like it had blood on the side that ran down to the floor. Not a pleasant smell either.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Rujul S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), VA, responded to this review 2019-06-28
    • Dear Departure236451 We are very sorry the cleanliness of your room wasn't up to our typical standards and I apologize for the negative impression we gave you.We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We will use your comments about as a training opportunity with our staff. Please reach out to me directly at the hotel so we can give you a partial refund. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Sincerely Country Inn & Suites Doswell

  • "Excellent Stay"

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-19
    • Trip type: Family
  • So clean. So professional. So nice! Manager (Archie... I think was his name) resolved a booking issue I had with no problem. Great breakfast that was actually a real meal! Thank u for a perfect stay! You have my best recommendation.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Worst stay in 15 years"

    • Reviewed: 2019-06-18
    • Trip type: Family
  • You hotel has a train the runs 100 feet away from the building throughout the night, rattles the room. Tvs didn’t work, was told to click input on the remote (which has no input). Was never able to join the WiFi network even after asking for help. Needed laundry soap and change and needed to encourage them to help me, initially they just shrugged.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • Rujul S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Doswell (Kings Dominion), VA, responded to this review 2019-06-19
    • Dear Allison First of all, Thank You for providing this helpful feedback about your experience in our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, and especially our management, we want to offer to you our sincere apologies for your experience at our hotel. This is not the standard of Excellence we pride ourselves on here at the Country Inn & Suites, We did not perform at our standards and we understand how that created an unfortunate experience. This is a teachable moment for our team, and we are going to use this as an sincere lesson. I am also sorry your stay was disrupted by the train noise. While it is my hope to provide all our guests with a memorable stay, I am sorry that our hotel location was not a good fit for you. We will continue to use guest's comments to work on finding solutions to train noisy issues. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope that you will provide us with an opportunity in the future to create an exceptional stay. Sincerely Country Inn & Suites Doswell

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC