TripAdvisor traveler rating

91 reviews
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Brookings

Type of traveler

Excellent
31
Very Good
32
Average
14
Poor
5
Terrible
9

Traveler rating

Business
24
Couples
9
Solo travel
5
Family
39
Friends getaway
6

Rating summary

Location
4.0
Sleep Quality
4.0
Rooms
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
Cleanliness
4.0

Travelers’ tips to help you choose the right room

  • much better hotels nearby (Rey H)
    1.0
    2019-01-02
  • Easy access off I29 (Chris H)
    2.0
    2018-06-19
  • Good luck finding a place to plug a phone in over night to charge! (Tim S)
    3.0
    2017-01-01
  • Corner suites are roomy. Ask for the east end as it is away from the interstate. (Mark L)
    4.0
    2016-06-03
  • We prefer the first floor. (cjb1955)
    5.0
    2016-06-01

Most recent traveler reviews

  • "Would not recommend"

    • Reviewed: 2019-07-27
    • Trip type: Family
  • Would not recommend. Sofa couch/bed was so bad. You could feel the springs, made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. The pool was dark and not well maintained. Service was lacking and breakfast was little to be desired and I’m not a picky person when it comes to food!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • countryinnbrookings, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brookings, SD, responded to this review 2019-07-28
    • Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, it sadden us to know that we did not provide the best service that you deserve. We completely dropped the ball and we want to sincerely apologies for the inconvenience this caused you on your trip. We hope that you will give us a chance to help correct the situation by giving us a call to discuss this more 605-692-3500. Hope to hear from you soon, and wish to continue to have you on your next stay. -Mariah, Front Desk Manager Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brookings, SD

  • "wouldn't stay here again"

    • Reviewed: 2019-05-05
    • Trip type: Family
  • the price of this hotel was jacked up for graduation weekend so we overpaid for a hotel that had incompetent staff working the front desk, a closed pool and hot tub- which was not made known to us at time of booking, a breakfast that left us hungry due to lack to poor food provided- "sausage substance", "omelets like water", etc..., old, torn up carpet and poorly maintained property. the room was of average size for a hotel of this type of hotel.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
  • "Dirk Norgaard"

    • Reviewed: 2019-04-25
    • Trip type: Family
  • This seems redundant but, overall I was dissatisfied with my stay over the Easter weekend. I rented two rooms, but was not told about the renovations that were taking place that weekend. We checked in around 11PM on Thursday night and the place was a mess. Mainly in the hallways, but the front desk person didn't bother to explain or apologize for the mess. When we asked where the elevator was, we were told down the hall to the left, but the elevator was not clearly marked, and because there was a door at the opening, we weren't sure if we were using the freight elevator or what. We had to ask a tradesman that was working on the reno where the elevator was. Friday and Saturday night when we returned to the hotel, we went up to our room on the 2nd floor only to find out that our cards did not work. When I went back down to the front desk on Friday night I specified that we would be staying 2 more nights. Then on Saturday night when we returned to the hotel approx. 12midnight we again went to our rooms, but were not able to get in and had to return to the front desk to get the cards reassigned to the rooms. Very frustrating!

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
  • "Looks good online, in person is another story."

    • Reviewed: 2019-04-14
    • Trip type: Business
  • Rates increased when adding weekday stays. The building was under construction. Needs more than just paint. Also the walls are very thin, so wind and weather will be very apparent throughout the night.

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • CISBrookings, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brookings, SD, responded to this review 2019-04-18
    • Dear Culture18672892590, We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We understand the inconvenience an unexpected charge can cause. Please reach out to our front desk staff or our AGM Anissa if you require additional assistance in this matter. We would like the opportunity to speak with you about this matter. As you mentioned, we are in the process of remodeling the property and hope you give us another opportunity to host you should your travels bring you to Brookings.

  • "Over charged for room stay."

    • Reviewed: 2019-03-21
    • Trip type: Business
  • I stayed at this hotel one night. In the morning my checkout was under the door. When I looked at my credit card statement it showed two separate charges. I contacted hotel and they told me they only show one charge on their system but I was charged twice to my credit card

    • tripadvisor-rating
      Rooms
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Value
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Sleep Quality
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Location
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Cleanliness
    • tripadvisor-rating
      Service
    • CISBrookings, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Brookings, SD, responded to this review 2019-03-25
    • Dear Cody, We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We understand the inconvenience an unexpected charge can cause. Please reach out to Assistant General Manager Anissa at 605-692-3500 if you require additional assistance in this matter. Best,

See all reviews at TripAdvisor

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC